top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarcasm Goddess

The Best 90's Cartoon Network Shows To Revisit

As a 90s kid, I was always glued to the TV or a better way to put it would be that once upon a time, Cartoon Network was my soul mate. My life revolved around these cartoon shows. I think this could be because I was an adorably cute little bitch when I was younger. I had the tendency to create havoc when things didn't go my way (I don't think much has changed now). I can lash out faster than a lightning bolt so the only friends I had were these cartoon characters. Gosh, that sounds so sad. To be very true it wasn't bad at all.

I guess my love for comedy, sarcasm and humour developed thanks to these shows. Here are my favourite cartoon network shows that I can still binge-watch to eternity. These shows always made me laugh and taught me that anything and everything is possible and I am sure that every 90's born kid will agree with me.


For your information, they are not ranked in any order of awesomeness or favouritism. I just typed the names as I remembered them.

1. Tom and Jerry

I don't think there is anyone who hasn't seen Tom & Jerry. If there is, consider yourself an enemy of humour and everything funny. This is the cartoon show for which the word ROFL was invented.


2. Ed, Edd and Eddy

This fun trio has always had me wishing that I find people just like them. Craziness, stupidity and friendship was something that I hoped I would find in the real world.


3. Dexter's Laboratory

The smart one and the annoying sister. Sounds familiar. Oh! That's me and my brother. Well, my brother wasn't as intelligent as Dexter to have a secret laboratory. Somehow these days I feel he fits the role of Dee Dee.

4. The Powerpuff Girls

Powerpuff Girls is I guess my time's 'Girl Power' promoting show. Three kindergarten superhero sisters fight the evil Mojo Jojo. This cartoon taught me that there can be cute, adorable and female superheroes. Thanks to this show, I learnt that woman can be a badass too.

5. Johnny Bravo

Johnny Bravo. A lot of people would say that this is not the right kind of cartoon for kids to watch but I have to say, I loved this one because I always laughed seeing him do weird poses to impress women. I don't think I understood the adult humour in it then but now I can kind of see why a few people had issues with it. No matter what anyone says, I always loved him for his stupidity.

6. SWAT Kats: The Radical Squadron

Razor and T-bone were what my idea of the military superheroes was. I loved how they fought and saved the city while keeping their identity a secret. Their gadgets were so cool. I always wanted to join this team. I should thank my brother for bringing this show to my attention.

7. The Sylvester and Tweety Mysteries

A fun catch and chase of a cat and bird is what this show is all about. If you ask me it somehow always reminded me of Tom and Jerry. Instead of a mouse, we have a bird, Tweety. Tweety is one adorable character. Agree?

8. Codename: Kids Next Door

Kid spies with a cool treehouse. Do I even need to say anything else? This cartoon is what every kid wished what their childhood would be like. Somehow during my childhood, I always felt this is what spies would really be like. I wanted to so badly be one of them.

9. Courage the Cowardly Dog

Crazy and unrealistic plot where a cowardly dog saves its owners from supernatural beings. Insane plots, humour and Courage's love for his owner made this a very special show for me.

10. Wile E Coyote and the Road Runner

Once I hear the name Road Runner, the first thing that comes to my mind the sound Beep-Beep and the coyote getting screwed up. If you don't love this show, then you really need to see a doctor.


Ghostbusters, Scooby-Doo, Popeye, The Bugs Bunny Show, The Mask, Pokemon, Justice League and The Addams Family should be something that you should definitely check out. Even though these didn't make it in the list above I feel they have all earned this spot in the article for making my life awesome. Let me know in the comments below which ones were your favourite shows growing up.


Cartoon Network, I would really like to thank you for making my childhood so special.

 

Ps- Picture courtesy- Google.


2,044 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page