top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarcasm Goddess

My Favourite Quotes by Oscar Wilde

Updated: Jul 2, 2020

I hope you know who Oscar Wilde is but if you don’t then go google search. Too lazy? Fine, I will just you a small description on who is so it works wonders for my SEO and I hope on your pea-sized brain. Don’t worry no offence taken. Well, Oscar Wilde was an Irish playwright and poet who became exceedingly famous in London during the 1890s. He was also convicted and imprisoned. After his term in jail, he settled down in Paris where he breathed his last breath. All these facts stated above are from Wikipedia so don’t blame me if they are wrong He was known for his expertise in creating some exceptional satires and hence now you know why I like him but unfortunately, I have never read any of his pieces. I am a fan of his quotes so here are my 25 favourite quotes of his:

Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell the truth.


I can resist everything except temptation.


Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.


Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.



Everything in moderation, including moderation.


I am not young enough to know everything.


I have the simplest of tastes. I am always satisfied with the best.


I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying.


To love oneself is the beginning of a lifelong romance.


Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.


There is only one thing in the world worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about.


To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.


I can never travel without my diary, one should always have something sensational to read on the train.


You can never be overdressed or overeducated.


The truth is rarely pure and never simple.


Experience is simply the name we give our mistakes.


Success is a science; if you have the conditions, you get the result.


By giving us the opinions of the uneducated, journalism keeps us in touch with the ignorance of the community.


Morality is simply the attitude we adopt towards people whom we personally dislike.


I always pass on good advice. It is the only thing to do with it. It is never of any use to oneself.


You will always be fond of me. I represent to you all the sins you have never had the courage to commit.


The true mystery of the world is the visible, not the invisible.


The old believe everything, the middle-aged suspect everything, the young know everything


There are only two tragedies in life: one is not getting what one wants, and the other is getting it.


Life is far too important a thing ever to talk seriously about.

119 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page