top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarcasm Goddess

73 Years Of Independence!

73 years of independence and nothing has changed yet everything has. We all glimpsed at the struggles for independence from the British through our History books, witnessed the decriminalization of gay sex, the abolition of triple talaq, abrogation of article 370, and experienced pride course through our veins for 73 years while signing Jana Gana Mana looking at our national flag.


Indian Flag
Picture Courtesy: Pixabay

I believe it is time to change the slogan from ‘freedom is my birthright and I shall have it’ to ‘freedom is our birthright and we shall have more if it one day at a time’.

Let this year be the year that we say, “thank you for all the freedom you have given me, but I want more not just for me but for every single Indian”.

You gave me the freedom to be born as a girl and be at par with the men in this world but you forgot to give my sisters the freedom to develop their wings to fly and build swords to fight this world of patriarchy.


You gave me the freedom of expression to make this world listen to me but you forgot to give the freedom to people who really needed to speak out without others spewing hate and insults.


You gave me the freedom to go out alone for a movie but not the freedom for my parents to have their mind at peace when I sit in a dark packed theatre with my fellow countrymen.


You gave me the right to be seen as I am and not be judged but you forgot to give my brothers and sisters from the LBGTQ the freedom from being criticised, looked down upon and outcasted.


Pride colours, LBGTQ
Picture Courtesy: Pixabay

You gave me the freedom to follow any religion, culture and beliefs but you forgot to give my omnist friends the freedom to not be put into unnecessary categories.


You gave me the freedom to live in luxury but you forgot to give the same freedom to our dear farmers the same luxury. If not luxury, at least a debt-free life.


Farmers, Indian Farmers
Picture Courtesy: Pexels

You gave me the freedom to stand against the wrong and raise my voice but your forgot to give the freedom of security from random people’s judgements, victim-blaming and trolling of the abuse victims, differently-abled and people who suffer from mental illness.


I know we have come a long way but I also know we have a long way to go, for Freedom is not one of the choices you can pick from, it is the only choice to move forward. Freedom can’t be grabbed overnight, it can only be sought with patience and determination for it is not the battle we want to win but the war. Always remember that freedom is not just about rights, but also about duties.


77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page