top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarcasm Goddess

Pyjamas Are Forgiving By Twinkle Khanna

Updated: May 17, 2020

Here is a review of the book that has been making quite some noise from someone who is truly a sarcastic person, Twinkle Khanna.


Review of Pyjamas Are Forgiving
Review of Pyjamas Are Forgiving

This is the second book of Twinkle that I am reading. My first one was Mrs Funnybones. When compared to that this seems to fall a little flat but we are not here to compare her books. For me, the book is something that is worthwhile if its plot, characters and the writing style is good. Well, to be true, the cover should also be good but let us keep that a secret because then people will tell me don't judge a book by its cover. It makes no sense. How do I buy a book without reading the back cover? People and their weird sayings.


Plot

The plot of this book starts with the main character, Anshu or Juju (her ex-husband's way of expressing his endearment for her, no wonder he is an ex) being at Kerala's most prestigious and luxurious spa called Shanthamaaya. This story shows how the lead character handles the situation when her ex-husband, Jay or Bibet (somehow our Juju came up with this name as a way of expressing her ass of a husband) pop-ups at the same spa with his new wife, Shalini. The story in a few lines- husband cheated on wife and he dumps her for the younger lady he cheated with. Comes to the same spa on the request of his abusive creepy cousin so that he can get the creep to hire him to manage his investments. Manipulates, insults and cheat on his current wife and his ex-wife. The plot ends with her leaving the place by going against her manipulative ex-husband Bibet. Wow! The plotline did not impress me at all. It fell flat and predictable.


Characters

Their main characters were all quite disappointing, yes Juju and Bibet did not impress me at all while the supporting characters were something that kept the story a little interesting, they couldn't hook me to read it till the end. I was quite disappointed because Twinkle Khanna is the one person that is so good to characterizing. I give her kudos for coming up with names like Juju and Bibet for it was ridiculously funny names to call your other half.


Writing Style

It seems like the Twinkle was really trying very hard to be sarcastic or not be so sarcastic. That is one thing I couldn't figure out. As a fan of her first book, I was expecting a lot of humour but found very few of them. It did bring a smile to my face in a few selected scenes. The ones with Dr Pillai and Dr Menon were exceptionally good and these were the places that I found the Twinkle Khanna that I came to see in her book Mrs Funnybones.


My final review is that this book was an average for me. I completed reading my book within two days since it didn't grab my interest like her first book. I would give this book a 3/5 rating.


Do let me know in the comments below if you have read this book.

Book Details

Title: Pyjamas Are Forgiving

Author: Twinkle Khanna

Publisher: Juggernaut


If you are looking to get this book then you can buy one copy from Amazon.



75 views0 comments
bottom of page